Select Page
Chair of Governors Statement

Hello, my name is Asif Hussain and I am the Chair of Governors.  I have been a Local Authority governor at St. Mary’s for just over 4 years.  I am privileged to have been given an opportunity by my governing body to undertake this extremely important role.

The key reason I decided to become a governor was to ensure that children get the best education possible while at a primary school and to ensure that this is under-pinned by a strong leadership team with a strong vision of success.  

My professional career is within a Wealth Management division of a major high street bank, I am a Regional Manager and have been for many years.  My day to day role has given me a strong set of skills that are transferable within Governance within a school.

If you would like to raise any issues or concerns with me, which cannot be addressed by school staff, or would like to ask any questions you may write or email me via the school office and I will get back to you.

Governing Body – September 2017
Title First Name Surname Governor Type Date of Appointment Date of Re-Appointment End of Office Appointing Body
Mr Timothy Parker Foundation 01/10/2012 07/09/2016 06/09/2020 PCC
Mrs Lizbeth Wood Foundation 05/09/2012 07/09/2016 06/09/2020 Canterbury Diocese
Mr  Stuart  Gardner  Foundation  21/02/18  20/02/22 Canterbury Diocese
Mr Charles Suddards Foundation 02/10/2015 01/10/2019 PCC
Dr Joanne Cairns Foundation 29/04/2018 28/04/2020 Canterbury Diocese
Mr Robert Weaver Foundation 04/04/2018 03/04/2020 Canterbury Diocese
Mrs Diane Moore Headteacher 22/02/2016 ongoing ongoing FGB
Mrs Kellie Day Parent 03/12/2015 02/12/2019 Parent Body
Mr Asif Hussain Authority 02/05/2014 01/05/2018 LA
Ms Penny Taylor Co-opted 13/03/2014 12/03/2018 FGB
Mrs Sue  O’Dowling Staff 03/05/18 02/05/22
Mrs Sarah Beaney Associate Member 23/04/2015 22/04/2019 FGB
Rev  John  McKenzie Foundation  06/02/2017  05/02/2021 Canterbury Diocese
Mr Christopher Buss Foundation 15/05/2017 15/05/2021 Canterbury Diocese
Mrs Catherine Hazelden Clerk 23/07/2016 ongoing ongoing



This table summarises the Governors’ [and Associate Members’] declaration forms – which are held in the School Office

Governors Meeting Record Sept 17 – July 18

 Governors Meeting Attendance Record September 2016 to July 2017

Governor meeting Attendance Record 2017-2018

2016 – 2017

Governor’s name


Interests Declared
Mrs Diane Moore Headteacher of School
Mr Asif Hussein None
Mr Charles Suddards Sweet Shop Proprietor
Mrs Lisbeth Wood None
Mr Timothy Parker Teacher at Towers Academy, Ashford/wife works as a teacher Ann Parker a teacher at St Mary’s.
Mrs Penny Taylor Teacher in School
Mrs Kellie Day None
Rev John McKenzie  Also a governor at Willesborough Infants, Willesborough Junior, East Stour and John Wallis Academy
Dr Joanne Cairns None
Mr Stuart Gardner  CEO Thinking Schools Academy Trust.  Wife is a Teaching Assistant at Ashford St. Mary’s Primary School
Mrs Sarah Beaney School Business Manager (no voting rights)
Mr Robert Weaver None
Mrs Sue O’Downling Teacher at Ashford St. Mary’s Primary School
Mr Christopher Buss None
Abbreviations:- HT = Headteacher.  AM = Associate Member